Book Your Bus Ticket

Starlight Express

Starlight Express Rating & Reviews

44 Reviews

Find and read all the latest Starlight Express reviews from fellow bus travelers. These verified Starlight Express reviews have been submitted from real customers who booked their Starlight Express tickets on GotoBus.com. The customer reviews evaluate Starlight Express service by rating different aspects such as the bus cleanliness, punctuality, staff and bus comfort. We hope you find them helpful! Find out more about the GotoBus customer reviews program - we look forward to your review!

  • Posted on: 2018-02-15
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Laura
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Plenty of room to stretch out, snacks provided. WiFi was spotty, but otherwise the ride was pleasant.
  • Posted on: 2018-02-15
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Laura
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Plenty of room to stretch out, comfortable, snacks provided. Pleasant experience.
  • Posted on: 2017-12-18
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Michael
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Everything was fine once I found the bus. For some reason I wasn't on the driver's manifest so I either wasn't updated to a pickup location change or simply wasn't on her call list. I had to call the number listed on my ticket and get routed through dispatch to eventually be told where the bus was. It was almost a total disaster. Something needs to be changed concerning street-side pickup locations.
  • Posted on: 2017-12-15
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Michael
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
The bus driver and ride was great but it's frustrating that the driver was the only person capable of explaining why Monday's (NYC->Charlottesville) bus was cancelled when I called Starlight and they couldn't even confirm that it was cancelled.
  • Posted on: 2017-11-27
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Michael
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2017-11-19
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Michael Kendall
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
No outlets, would've been nice to know that beforehand. The back of the seat in front of me also looked like some puke was on it. We arrived a little late but traffic is tough. The driver was nice and helpful! The internet was pretty spotty too.
  • Posted on: 2017-09-28
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: berenice puello
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2017-09-19
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Jessica
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Great driver very friendly and accommodating. Smooth ride to destination.
  • Posted on: 2017-09-11
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: JESSICA
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Nice driver, has snacks and water, drinks! Will book again next time .
  • Posted on: 2017-09-10
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Camilla
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2017-08-01
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Timothy McMullen
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Bus was on time, free snacks and bottles of water provided, professional driver/staff, convenient schedule
  • Posted on: 2017-07-21
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Kelly Paulino
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2017-07-08
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Kelly Paulino
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2017-06-27
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Alexandra
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
We had a small van instead of the normal large bus with a restroom. Consequently, we were over 40 minutes late because of the frequent restroom stops we were required to make. (We were over 1hour late, but 20 minutes of that was traffic so the 40 minute delay was entirely due to bathroom break)
  • Posted on: 2017-05-29
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: lucinda
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
great experience, will travel again. the drivers were very courteous, professional, and friendly
  • Posted on: 2017-04-15
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Ritu
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2017-01-13
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Nitisha Raje
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
It's a great bus service. Only if you can provide with charging plugs in future.
  • Posted on: 2016-11-28
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Tony
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2016-09-13
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Tony
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
The old bus has electrical outlet for phone charger and this one has none. Wifi was weak.
  • Posted on: 2016-07-10
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Kelly
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Besides the driver being late and stopping twice which caused the Bus to arrive late it was fine
  • Posted on: 2016-07-05
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Lyndsay
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2016-04-12
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: PANSIOT
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
The seats are not very comfortable. And there one thing I don't understand : why is there any belt for the passengers ? Only the driver got a belt. If there an accident, there will be lot of dead people.
  • Posted on: 2015-11-22
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Gabriel Levi
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Im a big fan of the service, I have been riding on the SE exclusively for about 8 yrs. After the company was sold, 2 disappointing things happened, the price went up and the service quality went down. The things that I miss most in order of importance are: 1)The price 2)The comfortable seats on the old bus 3)The power outlets 4)The brand name sodas in the glass bottles Note: The new bus driver is great.He is cordial and very professional and he makes great time.
  • Posted on: 2015-11-07
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Jie Cheng
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-10-13
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Alexandra
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-10-09
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Alexandra
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-09-14
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Jane Dembski
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
First time to do this and I will do it again. Bus driver was on time, courteous and friendly. Thanks for a pleasant experience!
  • Posted on: 2015-09-10
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Kaitlyn
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-08-18
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Purbashish Gangu
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-08-10
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Ranjit
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-08-07
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Alexandra
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-08-04
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Himanshu Patel
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-08-03
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Alexandra Newman
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
I think Starlight should really consider not advertising busses with tables and outlets as they no longer use those busses. Otherwise, it is a good and reliable option for traveling to NYC and back.
  • Posted on: 2015-08-03
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Md Mustafizur Ra
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-08-01
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Eric
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-07-27
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Ricker
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Lights and seat air vents in need of repair. First time difficulty in finding the departure site. Inadequate description. No one at that intersection (9th Ave. and 13th St. W) even a native New Yorker, knew about it. You need a landmark -- e.g., on SW corner in front of XXX hotel.
  • Posted on: 2015-07-12
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Linda Chen
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-07-07
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Alexandra
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-07-07
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Alexandra
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-07-07
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Alexandra
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
When I started riding Starlight, we were provided a bus with two tables, a coffee bar, outlets, and internet. Recently, the price has gone up slightly, there are no more outlets, no more coffee bar, but still internet and other drinks and snacks. Bottom line, it's a good value, but I wish they would stop advertising that they have outlets on the busses, because they have all but phased those out.
  • Posted on: 2015-06-28
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Khyati Parikh
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Excellent service, on time, good hospitability, like as soon as you get into bus driver is serving water, and soft drink and help passenger to load their lugguage.
  • Posted on: 2015-06-08
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: DSP
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Good prices but bus uncomfortable and dirty.
  • Posted on: 2015-06-05
  • Depature: Charlottesville, VA
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Shana
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
The ride was bumpier than expected (on the way north, so much so that I could not read) and i was told there are sometimes wifi or places to charge cell phones etc... any of those fixes/features would have raised to a 5-start trip.
  • Posted on: 2015-05-26
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Charlottesville, VA
  • Name: Sean Nelson
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
There was mention of services such as power plug and wireless internet available. These things did not appear to be present on the bus. They were not expected, and did not affect the trip, though it was noted.
    Starlight Express review summary
  • Total Number of Reviews44
  • Overall Raiting4.4
  • Bus Cleanliness4.5
  • Punctuality4.6
  • Bus Service & Staff4.7
  • Bus Comfort3.9
  • Recommend Yes89.1%
  • GotoBus.com is an independent online bus ticketing company that is not involved in any bus operations
    TOP OF PAGE
    Already registered? Please login